School Records Fall at MAPL Indoor Track & Field Championships

Saturday, February 15, 2020
Addie Geitner ’21

Addie Geitner ’21 and James Colwell ’20 won individual events and Mercersburg athletes set or tied four different school records at the 2020 Mid-Atlantic Prep League Indoor Track & Field Championships February 15 in Lawrenceville, NJ.

Geitner won the girls’ 1600m in a time of 5:30.00, and Colwell’s first place time of 7.90 in the boys’ 55m hurdles lowered his own school record. Other new school records came from Grace Lewis ’20 in the girls’ triple jump (34’ 3”, bettering her own record of 33’ 10.75”) and the boys’ 4x400m relay team of Colwell, Sean Fiscus ’20, Jasper Dittmar ’21, and Berklee Cohen ’20 (3:39.86). Prithvi Kota ’21 tied the school record in the boys’ high jump (6’ 0”).

Girls’ highlights:
After Geitner’s victory in the 1600m, she came back later in the meet to place fifth in the 800m in a time of 2:30.75. Annie Leder ’20 came in fourth in the triple with a jump of 33’ 8”, her best-ever indoors.  Mercersburg athletes took three scoring places in the 55m hurdles: Leder was third (9.42), Elizabeth Flaherty ’21 was fourth (9.86), and Hannah King ’23 took sixth (10.29). Leder placed third in the long jump at 15’ 11”, with Lewis placing 6th at 15’ 4”. King placed 4th in the high jump at 4’ 10”.    

Boys’ highlights:
Colwell won the 55m hurdles with a dramatic finish at the line, out-leaning Lawrenceville’s Gregory Foster by one one-hundredth of a second. (Colwell’s previous best in the event was 7.91, so that extra hundredth of a second lowered his own school record by that same amount.) Kota’s high jump tied the indoor school record set by David Strider ’08 in 2008.    

Aakash Koduru ’20 and Fiscus placed third and fifth, respectively, in the 1600m. Koduru ran 4:36.58 and Fiscus ran 4:37.86. Koduru came back later in the meet to place fifth in the 3200m at 10:19.88.  
The 4x400m team’s record was almost three seconds faster than the previous mark, set in 2010 by the team of Tyler Mulloy ’10, Ellis Mays ’10, Taku Yamane ’12, and Simeon Daniels ’10.  

Full results: