High Five: Marshall Wins Irving-Marshall Week 2020

Thursday, February 27, 2020
First-place declaimer Will Maurer ’20 (Irving)

For the fifth consecutive year, the John Marshall Literary Society emerged victorious from Mercersburg Academy’s Irving-Marshall Week. Marshall defeated the rival Washington Irving Literary Society, 1325-525, though Irving’s Will Maurer ’20 (of Mercersburg, PA) won the Scoblionko Declamation Cup by placing first at Declamation February 27.

See a highlight video from Irving-Marshall Week 2020

Marshall’s Eliza DuBose ’20 (Rollinsville, CO) placed second, and fellow Marshall declaimer Clara Getty ’21 (Allentown, PA) was third. The Marshall quintet of DuBose, Getty, Chris Adams ’20 (Hagerstown, MD), Amelia Page ’21 (Alexandria, VA), and Manny Ponce ’23 (Union City, NJ) was chosen as the strongest Declamation team overall.

At the close of the winter term each year, the Mercersburg student body divides in half as members of the Irving Society and Marshall Society face off in a variety of athletic contests and the all-important and highly anticipated Declamation. Every student at the school is a member of one of the two societies.

Marshall has won the competition the last five years and in 12 of the past 14 years; Irving’s last win in the competition came in 2015. Marshall’s current five-year win streak is its longest since at least 1901; in 2021, Marshall will look to match the longest streak of domination by either society in the rivalry (Irving’s six-year run from 1911 to 1916).

Aidan Ferrin ’20 (Irving) and Amelia Page ’21 (Marshall) 

Listen to the Irving-Marshall Podcast featuring Chelsea Seaby Bruno ’21

Irving-Marshall Week 2020 officially began with swimming and diving February 23, and continued with basketball, volleyball, dodgeball, and squash before Declamation (officially the "Irving-Marshall Prize Speaking Contest"). At Declamation, each society chooses five students apiece to perform a prepared monologue in front of the entire school. Following Declamation, the judges’ critiques are compared and the results are tallied, and Head of School Katie Titus announces the winning society at an all-school dance.

Marshall led Irving, 925-225, heading into Declamation.

Maurer performed "Kick Me: Adventures in Adolescence" by Paul Feig. DuBose took second for her rendition of "The Glass Castle" by Jeanette Wells, and Getty was third with "Take the Cannoli" by Sarah Vowell.

In addition to Maurer, this year’s Irving declaimers were Wren Dahbura ’21 (Hagerstown, MD), Aidan Ferrin ’20 (Bozeman, MT), Carmen Martinez ’20 (Bethesda, MD), and Emma Shuford ’22 (Hickory, NC). Carter Daughtridge ’23 (Hagerstown, MD) was Irving’s declaimer-in-training; the declaimer-in-training for Marshall was Maddie Dawson ’21 (Hagerstown, MD).

Addie Jenkins ’20 (Irving) and Annaliesse Cantera ’20 (Marshall) are this year’s society presidents.