First Group of Cum Laude Seniors Announced

Friday, October 25, 2019
Pictured left to right is Brandon Lamer-Connolly ’20, Natalie Titus ’20, Sean Fiscus ’20, Aidan Ferrin ’20, Jack Kothari ’20,
and Jiachen Sun ’20; front row: Selina Xue ’20, Shannon Fan ’20, Shirley Lee ’20 and Rebecca Feng ’20.  

Mercersburg Academy has announced the first 10 members of its Class of 2020 to be chosen for induction into the school’s chapter of the Cum Laude Society, which recognizes the highest level of academic achievement within the school.

Mercersburg is one of 382 secondary schools across the country with a Cum Laude Society chapter. Academic Dean Jennifer Miller Smith ’97 announced the students at a school meeting on October 25.

The group of students chosen for membership in Cum Laude are:

Shannon Fan ’20 of Beijing, China

Aidan Ferrin ’20 of Bozeman, Mt. 

Rebecca Feng ’20 of Beijing, China

Sean Fiscus ’20 of LaVale, Md. 

Jack Kothari ’20 of Hagerstown, Md. 

Brandon Lamer-Connolly ’20 of Greencastle, Pa. 

Shirley Lee ’20 of Seoul, South Korea

Jiachen Sun ’20 of Falls Church, Va. 

Natalie Titus ’20 of Mercersburg, Pa.

Selina Xue ’20 of Shanghai, China

“The motto of Cum Laude is ‘Arete, Dike, Time’—which translates to ‘excellence, justice, and honor’—and these students model for our school the very highest level of achievement in our classrooms,” Maurer said. 

The second group of Cum Laude inductees from the Class of 2020 will be announced at the school’s annual Cum Laude Convocation March 20, 2020.

Cum Laude honorees are elected as seniors by faculty members of Mercersburg’s Cum Laude chapter in recognition of excellence in academic work. The Cum Laude Society, which was founded in 1906, is billed as the secondary-school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa.