25 Seniors Honored with Cum Laude Society Membership

Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Cum Laude members inducted in April 2020. Top row (L-R): Rosina Beritela ’20,
Julia Borger ’20, Erika Eichelberger ’20, Grace Heine ’20.
Row 2: Grace Lewis ’20, Leo Li ’20, Megan List, ’20, Daniel Mazo ’20.
Row 3: Megan McGregor ’20, Mia Nguyen ’20, Anabelle Oldham ’20, Maggie Quick ’20.
Row 4: Hung Tran ’20, Priscilla Wadlington ’20, and Max Yang ’20.

One of the annual highlights of Mercersburg Academy’s academic calendar is the induction of a select group of members of the senior class into the school’s chapter of the Cum Laude Society. Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is billed as the secondary-school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa. Cum Laude honorees are elected as seniors by the faculty of Mercersburg’s Cum Laude chapter in recognition of excellence in academic work.

Fifteen members of the Class of 2020 are being announced for the first time. ​They include Rosina Beritela ’20 of Sparks, MD; Julia Borger ’20 of Malvern, PA; Erika Eichelberger ’20 of McConnellsburg, PA; Grace Heine ’20 of Fayetteville, PA; Grace Lewis ’20 of Greencastle, PA; Leo Li ’20 of Mercersburg, PA; Megan List ’20 of Fayetteville, PA; Daniel Mazo ’20 of Mercersburg, PA; Megan McGregor ’20 of Miami, FL; Mia Nguyen ’20 of Hanoi, Vietnam; Anabelle Oldham ’20 of Dallas, TX; Maggie Quick ’20 of Denton, MD; Hung Tran ’20 of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; Priscilla Wadlington ’20 of Shippensburg, PA; and Max Yang ’20 of Shanghai, China.

They join 10 members of the senior class who were originally chosen for Cum Laude Society membership in October 2019: Shannon Fan ’20 of Beijing, China; Aidan Ferrin ’20 of Bozeman, MT; Rebecca Feng ’20 of Beijing, China; Sean Fiscus ’20 of LaVale, MD; Jack Kothari ’20 of Hagerstown, MD; Brandon Lamer-Connolly ’20 of Greencastle, PA; Shirley Lee ’20 of Seoul, South Korea; Jiachen Sun ’20 of Falls Church, VA; Natalie Titus ’20 of Mercersburg, PA; and Selina Xue ’20 of Shanghai, China.

"We are so proud of these students who embody academic achievement coupled with a strong work ethic," said Julia Stojak Maurer ’90, associate head of school for school life. "They represent an embodiment of our core values to their peers. While we wish we could celebrate with them on campus, we are thrilled to announce our intent to induct them into the Cum Laude Society at this time."

Cum Laude inductees named in October 2019 (L-R): Brandon Lamer-Connolly ’20,
 Natalie Titus ’20, Selina Xue ’20, Sean Fiscus ’20, Shannon Fan ’20, Aidan Ferrin ’20,
Shirley Lee ’20, Jack Kothari ’20, Rebecca Feng ’20, and Jiachen Sun ’20.

The students were scheduled to be honored March 20 at Mercersburg’s annual Cum Laude Convocation in the Irvine Memorial Chapel. James Snyder ’69, who served as director of the Israel Museum in Jerusalem and deputy director of the Museum of Modern Art in New York City (in addition to his service on the Academy’s Board of Regents), was slated to be the featured speaker at the event before it was canceled due to the closure of campus this spring. Mercersburg hopes to more formally honor the inductees at a later date. 

Mercersburg is one of 382 secondary schools across the country with a Cum Laude Society chapter; those chosen for membership in the Academy’s chapter represent the highest level of academic achievement within the school.

The committee of Cum Laude Society faculty and staff members includes Julie Bell, Jeff Cohen, Eric Hicks, Jyl Hoover, Julia Stojak Maurer ’90, Jennifer Miller Smith ’97, and Head of School Katie Titus.

Congratulations to all 25 of our newest Cum Laude Society members.