School Leadership

Head of School

Katherine M. Titus was officially appointed head of school in July 2016. She is just Mercersburg’s seventh head of school in its 123-year history as a college-preparatory institution.

Katie comes to Mercersburg after serving as associate head for school life at St. George’s School in Middletown, R.I. She had served St. George’s in a variety of leadership roles since 2005, including dean of students and assistant head for student life before assuming the duties of associate head. As associate head, Katie oversaw the day-to-day running of the school in conjunction with the head of school and was an active member of the math faculty. Prior to St. George’s, she was the director of college counseling at Pingree School in South Hamilton, Mass., where she also taught math, served as an adviser, and coached.

Katie earned a bachelor of arts in mathematics with a minor in secondary education from Middlebury College, where she was a standout on the women’s basketball team, scoring more than 1,000 points in her four-year career and serving as a two-year team captain. She received a master’s in educational leadership from Columbia University in 2011.

Katie and her husband, Stuart, live in 1893 House on campus with their daughters, Natalie ’20 and Samantha.

Board of Regents

Mercersburg’s governing body is the Board of Regents. The Board comprises up to 30 alumni, parents of alumni, parents of current students, and friends of the school. Current Regents hail from 15 states.

The Board includes nine standing committees: Academic Policy/Campus Life, Admission, College Counseling, Buildings and Grounds, Advancement, Finance and Audit, Investment, Committee on Regents, and Executive Committee. The Board meets three times a year, in the fall, winter, and spring. Board members are elected for three-year terms.
Head of School
Katherine Titus
David Frantz ’60
Vice Presidents
Allen Zern ’61
Deborah Simon ’74
Secretary & Assistant Treasurer
Brian Hargrove
Treasurer & Assistant Secretary
Maria Kimsey

    • 'Alice

      Alice Albright P ’12, ’17

    • 'Charles

      Charles Bell ’71

    • 'Albert

      Albert Bellas ’60

    • 'Kenneth

      Kenneth Berents ’67

    • 'Cynthia

      Cynthia Davenport Borger ’83, P ’15

    • 'Barrett

      Barrett Burns ’63

    • 'Sally

      Sally Anne Epstein ’81

    • 'Laura

      Laura Fisher P ’12, ’15

    • 'David

      David Flanagan ’81

    • 'David

      David Frantz Ph.D. ’60

    • 'Samuel

      Samuel Goldsmith ’07

    • 'Thomas

      Thomas Hadzor ’72

    • 'Andrew

      Andrew Hall ’88

    • 'Dean

      Dean Hosgood Ph.D. ’98

    • 'Todd

      Todd Hovenden ’84, P ’14, ’15

    • 'Honorable

      Honorable John Jones III ’73

    • 'Magdalena

      Magdalena Kala ’09

    • 'Peter

      Peter Lebovitz ’72

    • 'Stacie

      Stacie Rice Lissette Esq. ’85, P ’14, ’14, ’17, ’19

    • 'Philip

      Philip Lloyd Esq. ’65, P ’90, ’94

    • 'Pierce

      Pierce Lord ’98

    • 'Douglas

      Douglas Miller Esq. ’68, P ’00, ’03

    • 'Jamil

      Jamil Myrie ’93

    • 'Amy

      Amy Jones Satrom ’98

    • 'Deborah

      Deborah Simon ’74

    • 'Katherine

      Katherine Titus

    • 'Jorge

      Jorge Vargas ’84

    • 'David

      David Wagner ’81

    • 'Steven

      Steven Wagshal ’90

    • 'Vanessa

      Vanessa Youngs ’03

    • 'Allen

      Allen Zern ’61

List of 2 items.

  • Presidents Emeriti

    W. Carroll Coyne, Esq. ’50
    Denise Dupré ’76
    H.F. “Gerry” Lenfest, Esq. ’49
    Edgar Masinter, Esq. ’48
    Honorable Nicholas Taubman ’53
    William Zimmerman ’67
  • Regents Emeriti

    Andrew Ammerman ’68
    Theodore Boyd ’60
    Walter Burgin Jr. ’53
    Thomas Cahalan Jr. ’65
    Richard Cass, Esq. ’64
    James Christian
    Deborah Ross Cipriano ’75
    W. Hudson Connery Jr. ’68
    W. Carroll Coyne, Esq. ’50
    Peter Davenport
    Philip Dunmire ’64
    Denise Dupré ’76
    Bruce Eckert ’62
    Amy Sheridan Fazackerley ’89
    David Genter ’52
    Richard Gray Jr., Esq. ’45
    M. Thomas Grumbacher ’57
    Steven Guttman, Esq. ’64
    Douglas Hale
    Don Harrold Jr. ’64
    Richard Harza ’41
    H. Philip Ho ’76
    Joseph Huber ’64
    Alan Kennedy ’49
    Richard Kline ’49
    Robert Kurtz Jr. ’52
    Ambassador L. Bruce Laingen
    Florian Langenscheidt, Ph.D.
    John Lawrence ’58
    H.F. “Gerry” Lenfest, Esq. ’49
    Robert Lewis ’52
    Thomas Marshall Jr. ’42
    Karen McDowell Marston ’79
    Edgar Masinter ’48
    Edward Miller ’59
    Betsy Mitchell ’83
    Charles Moore Jr. ’47
    David Moore ’74
    Betty Morefield
    Allan Neustadt ’46
    Josiah Pritchard ’50
    Lacy Rice Jr., Esq. ’49
    Burton Richter, Ph.D. ’48*
    John Rodgers
    Benicio Sanchez-Rivera Jr., Esq. ’52
    Paula Johnson Smith, Ph.D. ’83
    Henry Spire ’60
    Honorable Nicholas Taubman ’53
    Renu Virmani, M.D.
    Margaret Waggoner
    Charles Wood III ’56
    William Zimmermann ’67

    *Indicates honorary Regent
Founded in 1893 in the heart of Pennsylvania and the Mid-Atlantic, Mercersburg is a private, coed, college preparatory boarding school with approximately 440 students (15 percent are day), grades 9-12 and postgraduate.
We offer 170 courses, including AP and Honors, more than $6 million in financial aid, 26 varsity sports, and a state-of-the-art performing and visual arts center.
Located 90 minutes from Washington, D.C., and Baltimore, and within easy driving distance to New York City, Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh.
300 East Seminary Street, Mercersburg PA 17236